This website uses cookies to improve your experience navigating our site. By continuing to browse, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To learn more about how we use cookies, please view our Privacy Policy.

AARNet Advisory Committee

Members represent the interests of customers in each state of Australia and are a principal source of advice to the AARNet Board and CEO

    • Malcolm Caldwell Northern Territory

      Malcolm Caldwell Northern Territory

      Malcom Caldwell is Manager, Infrastructure Operations at Charles Darwin University.
    • Adrian Dillon Tasmania

      Adrian Dillon Tasmania

      Adrian Dillon is the Chief Information Officer at the University of Tasmania.

      Adrian and has over 30 years’ experience working in IT in the private, government and higher education sectors. He is a highly experienced information, communication and technology (ICT) executive with a broad business background and a strong foundation in ICT service delivery and infrastructure management. He works closely with the business to maximise value and improve performance.

    • Vito Forte Western Australia

      Vito Forte Western Australia

      Vito Forte is Chief Information Officer at Edith Cowan University

      Vito has over 35 years’ experience in the IT sector within various industries including mining and education.

      Since commencing at ECU in 2017 Vito has been responsible for driving transformative changes to the way IT Services are delivered at ECU. With the goal of driving student and institutional success Vito has utilised his experiences in successfully dealing with transformative change that will continue enable ECU to achieve its growth ambitions, with innovation, efficiency and differentiation.

    • Chris Hancock CEO AARNet

      Chris Hancock CEO AARNet

      Chris Hancock joined AARNet in 2004, bringing 25 years executive leadership experience to the Chief Executive Officer role, including 15 years in the media and telecommunications sectors.

      Prior to joining AARNet, Chris held several key executive positions at Optus, including Managing Director, Optus Wholesale and Managing Director, Optus Business. He was an integral member of the senior executive team that completed the initial public offering and subsequent sale of Optus to Singtel. He has also held executive positions with Vodafone, Seven Television Network and Sara Lee Corporation.

      Chris has a Bachelor of Arts (Social Science) from Charles Sturt University and an Executive MBA from the Australian Graduate School of Management. He is a Board Director of the Smart Services Cooperative Research Centre (CRC), Institute for Broadband Enabled Society (IBES) and the Starlight Foundation of NSW.

    • Tom Minchin CSIRO

      Tom Minchin CSIRO

      Tom Minchin is Senior Manager of Networks, Collaboration and Desktop Services, Information Management and Technology Services at CSIRO.

      Tom has worked in the science research support sector for over 20 years providing fit for purpose e-enablement platforms. Currently he oversees CSIRO’s IT customer facing infrastructure which includes networking, unified communications, data centres, desktop and application virtualisation. The outcome of the function is to support CSIRO’s research outcomes and drive impact due to acceleration of the research workflow.

      Prior to joining CSIRO, Tom has worked in the commercial internet service provider space handling network and customers operations, acquisitions and mergers.

    • Bev McQuade South Australia

      Bev McQuade South Australia

      Bev Wright is Chief Information Officer of The University of Adelaide.

      Bev has worked in the IT industry for more than 35 years in a range of sectors, including Banking, Insurance, Utilities, Federal and State Government, and now Higher Education. She is a Board Member of the South Australian Tertiary Admissions Centre (SATAC), and is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Beverly provides advisory services across the Industry. 

      She previously held the role of CIO for SA Water in South Australia for over 8 years where she led a significant transformation of IT services. In this role and previous leadership roles, her focus has been strong positive leadership and culture, creating strategic plans that enable organisations to meet the technological and digital services needs in the future.

    • Scott Sorley Chair, AARNet Advisory Committee Queensland

      Scott Sorley Chair, AARNet Advisory Committee Queensland

      Scott Sorley is Executive Director of ICT Services at the University of Southern Queensland. 

      Scott is responsible for enterprise wide planning, coordination and delivery of USQ information and communications systems.  Scott has lead major system and change projects to deliver benefits that transform and maximise business value.  He has a particular interest in enabling Higher Education and its mission to improve people's lives and create value for society.

    • Zoran Sugarevski Victoria

      Zoran Sugarevski Victoria

      Zoran Sugarevski is the Executive Director, Information Technology Services at Victoria University.

      Zoran has over 20 years’ experience in the IT sector within various industries which includes education, insurance, financial services and transport.

      Since 2012 Zoran has been responsible for developing strategy at Victoria University whilst having accountability for all technology related operations to deliver highly valued business outcomes.

      Zoran strives to provide a differentiated customer experience through the use of technology.  Zoran regularly shares his insights for optimising customer results through the use of technology and developing highly engaged and motivated teams.

      Zoran supports innovation and collaboration amongst the Higher Education sector as the chair of the Victorian Directors of IT/CIOs.